Flying Home

Right now I am in flight.

On board an aeroplane flying over the Irish Sea from Belfast International to Bristol International airport. I used to love flying, without exception. I still do absolutely love short haul, daytime flights but anything else isn’t quite so thrilling any more!

It’s first thing in the morning. I watched the sun rise at dawn as I sleepily sipped coffee in the departure lounge and boarded the flight in bright early morning sunshine and blue sky – and I’ve been reminded once again just how beautiful the world we live in really is.

With simple but uncomprehendingly powerful words, God spoke the world into being. His very breath created beauty and life with every single detail intentionally put in place.

As we hurtled down the runway and lifted into the sky, the earth zoomed out and the fields, hills, houses, roads and cars all became a play mat of life. I almost felt I could lean down and carefully pick up, move and  rearrange the overall composition before my eyes – move a tree here, create a lake there, move that building into that space … and looking down on to a miniature Earth gave me the tiniest snapshot into the greatness of our God.

As we rose higher again, I could not only look down through the thick, cotton wool clouds below me but also look up to see vivid, azure blue sky and bright, shining burning sunshine beaming down. Heaven touching Earth. And as I sit and write this, I feel so blessed to have the life I do.  This week has been amazing – my time in Ireland has brought so much and I’ve loved it. God has been tangible, oh-so-real and Himself in my life.

And I am reminded that God, my God, who I love with all my heart, all my soul and all my strength is literally beyond my comprehension. I cannot fathom how big, how powerful, how almighty He is. But what I do know is every time I am reminded of the wonder of creation, the more humbled I am that He loves me, little little me!

Leave a Reply

